Skip to main content

Sociology: Sociology

Information Literacy Outcomes for Sociology Students

 Students in Sociology Courses are expected to:

- Identify essential information sourses within their discipline, including journals, reference works, websites, and works by seminal authors/scholars.

- Use both lay and professional terminology within their discipline to formulate keyword searches

- Utilize advanced database search functions to access relevant information from essential sources

- Identify subject-specific databases and search engines relevant to their topic

- Use all AVAILABLE resources to complete a literature review on a given topic

- Obtain materials, if necessary, from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan services or by physically visiting other libraries

Search the LBCC Library Catalog

Search the catalog: Format:

Search WorldCat (libraries worldwide)

Current Events and Controversial Issues

Search these databases for full-text, print-based reports on current events and controversial issues.
ALT Tag for Image
Full-text reports with background, timeline, pro-con, and bibliographies on today's current issues.
 
ALT Tag for Image
Brings together numerous "opposing views," magazine articles, and references from a variety of resources.

Finding Magazine/Journal Articles

EBSCO Host Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier

Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.

Gale Academic OneFileAcademic Onefile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.

 

Contact a librarian!

Sociology Call Numbers

To find sociology books, explore the following areas in the LBCC collection:

HM - Sociology (general)

HN - Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.

HQ - The family. Marriage. Women.

HS - Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.

HT - Communities. Classes. Races.

HV - Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.

HX - Socialism. Communism. Anarchism.