Skip to main content

Course Research Guides: Home

What are "Peer Reviewed" articles and how do I find them?

Issues of peer-reviewed journals "Nature" and "Science" Peer Review: in many classes, your instructor will specify that you must use peer reviewed materials. So, what does this mean? Scholarly peer review is when the author’s work is subjected to independent analysis by other experts in their particular field. Think of it as getting a paper graded. Before the journal publishes the article, they consult experts other than the author to make sure that the content is the best it can possibly be.

To find peer reviewed articles in a database, be sure to check to box marked "Peer Reviewed" when starting your search. If you are not sure how to do this...ask a librarian!

What are "Full Text" articles and how do I find them?

Full Text: most databases will give you the option of viewing only results which contain the full text of the article (some databases will automatically do this, with others you have to tell it to). This is important. If you do not use the “Full Text” limiter, you will be able to see that the article exists, who wrote it, in what journal it appeared and a short summary of the article, but not the actual article itself. It’s nice to know that it’s out there, but what good does it do you if you can’t read it?

To find full text articles in a database, be sure to check the box marked "Full Text" when starting your search. If you are not sure how to do this...ask a librarian!

"College Now" Resources

Course Research Guides