Skip to main content

Writing 121 "The Best Place": Home

Useful Links

Explore a Topic

CQ Researcher CQ Researcher: Contains full-text reports with background, timeline, pro-con, and bibliographies on today's current issues.


Gale Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints: Brings together numerous "opposing views," magazine articles, and references from a variety of resources.

Find an Article

EBSCO Host Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier

Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.

Gale Academic OneFile Academic Onefile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.

The Assignment

The Best Place

In this essay you will answer the question: what is the best place to live? The answer will vary based on who you are and what you want to do? Here are a few examples:

    What is the best place to raise children who are not overweight?
    What is the best place to live if one is an employed as a construction worker?
    What is the best place to live for a gay man?
    What is the best place to live if one wants to receive public benefits?


Every essay will follow approximately the same formula.

1. First, identify the group or individual you are writing about (e.g. children under 18, Christian parents, job hunters etc.)

2. Second, identify what “conditions” would make this group or person happy. Conditions will vary. The parent who wants to raise children who are not overweight may be looking for good athletic programs in public schools. The gay man may be looking for a diverse community in a state that allows domestic partnerships.

3. Third, find research proving that these conditions do, indeed, provide the expected benefit. Ideally, you should find a scientific/sociological study, but a few expert opinions would work too.

4. Fourth, find research showing which place possesses the traits or conditions listed in Step 2.

Researched / Persuasive Essay

A good essay will be between 3 - 5 pages long and contain at least four sources. Research will come from journal articles, newspapers, magazines, books, and reputable websites. These often, but not always, end with .edu, .gov. and .org. Avoid encyclopedias (like Wikipedia) and .com websites.

English Department
Linn Benton Community College
541-917-4556