Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WR 121/122 Research Guide: Home

Information Literacy Outcomes for WR 121/122

Students taking Writing 121/122 should be able to successfully do the following:

  • Recognize when information is needed to complete specific exercises/assignments
  • Identify the various types of materials appropriate for use in a college-level research paper
  • Identify the necessary tools/databases/search engines needed how to access specific types of research materials
  • Use keywords, boolean operators, and truncation symbols to search various databases/search engines
  • Appropriately incorporate research information into a written text and cite correctly in MLA or APA style
  • Correctly create a list of references in APA or MLA style

Refer to the tutorials in the left-hand column if you require a refresher in any of these skills

Explore a Topic

CQ Researcher CQ Researcher: Contains full-text reports with background, timeline, pro-con, and bibliographies on today's current issues. Last updated 2011.


Gale Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints: Brings together numerous "opposing views," magazine articles, and references from a variety of resources.

Find an Article

EBSCO Host Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier

Provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database provides citations and abstracts for articles found in more than 8,000 publications.

Gale Academic OneFile Academic Onefile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, with articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.